Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to top


No Comments

Album Review: The Yeah Yeah Yeah’s Cool It Down

Album Review: The Yeah Yeah Yeah’s Cool It Down

| On 11, Nov 2022

The  New  York  City  trio  make  a  scintillating  return  as  they  elegantly  pave  a  new  era  for  the  band.

Yeah  Yeah  Yeah’s  return  proves  to  be  worth  the  wait  after  being  left  with  2013’s  “Mosquito”  as  the  career  low  in  their  whole  discography.  After what  seemed  to  be  a  never-ending  wait  for  the  band  to  get  back  into  the  studio,  they have graced us  with  some  of  2022’s  best  indie music.  Karen O,  Nick Zinner,  and  Brian Chase  come  together for  a  marvelous  fusion  of  Indie  Rock  and  Dream  Pop.

Bands  like  The  Strokes,  Interpol,  Yeah  Yeah  Yeahs,  and  LCD  Soundsystem  all dominated  New  York  City’s  music  scene  in  the  2000s. In  addition,  another  notable name  from  that music scene,  “TV On The Radio’s”  Dave  Sitek,  is  one  of the  producers  on  this  album.  Similar  to  the  Yeah  Yeah  Yeahs,  The  Strokes  came  back  in  2020  after  a  long  hiatus  releasing  “The  New  Abnormal”  which  is  a  name  that  goes  hand  in  hand  for  an  album  released  in  the  beginning  phases  of  the  pandemic.  The  Stroke’s  comeback  turned  out  to  be  more  than  well  received  in  an  era  where  rock  wasn’t  doing  as commercially well as  other  genres.  To  add  a  cherry  on  top,  they  finally  got  a  long overdue Grammy  Award  for  Best  Rock  Album. Yeah  Yeah  Yeahs   comeback  proves  to  be  praised  just  as  much  as  The  Strokes  and  “Cool  It  Down”  is  proof of that.

The  album  takes  flight  while  easing  you  in  with  the  single  “Spitting  Off  The  Edge  Of  The  World.” Inspired  by  climate  control,  the  song  delivers  powerful  and  blissful synths  that  are  reminiscent of  the electronic  band  M83 and features  fellow  artist  Perfume  Genius.  While  Perfume  Genius’s  feature  on  this  song  is  short,  it’s  vivid  and  impactful. Karen  O’s  vocals  and  lyrics  call  out for  people  to  rise  against  the  climate  problems.   This  track  was  the  perfect  single  to  open  up  the  album,  setting  the  mood  for listeners.

Although “Lovebomb”  feels  like  an  overly  long  interlude,  it  doesn’t  diminish the sweet and soft vocals of Karen  O and  the synth’s  serene  mood.  While  the  synths  were  great,  the  simple  instrumentation  could’ve  been  fleshed  out  a  little  more. Overall, the  track  is  still  one  to  be enjoyed  as  it  is  therapeutic  to  the  ears.

The  biggest  highlight  on  the  entire  album,  “Wolf”,  starts  off  with  vulnerable  lyrics and a  great  tempo  set  by  Brian  Zimmers  drumming. The song  breaks  off  from  the  chorus into  soul  elevating  orchestral  synth  strings  that  can  blow  minds.  Karen  O’s  delivery  is  such  a  weapon  on  this  track  as  it  goes  to  show  again  that  her  performance  is  hauntingly  beautiful  throughout  this  album.

Halfway  through  the  album,  “Fleez”  gives  us  a  brash  synth  sound  inflamed by  a  funk  bass.  While  the  bass  and  the  synth  go  together  really well,  the drumming  was  somewhat  lacking  Karen  O’s  vocal  performance  barely  makes  up  for  where  the  drums  lack.  Yet  the  track  is  still  amazing, barely  affecting  it  as  a  whole.

The  second  single  that  was  released  “Burning”  is  inspired  by  The  Four  Seasons;  Karen  O  &  Nick  Zinner  having  appreciation for Frankie Valli’s songwriting.  “Lay  your  red  hand  on  me”  is   a  lyric  taken  from  The  Four  Seasons  song  “Beggin.”  They  continue  onward  from  “Fleez”  with  a  rough  &  fuzzy  guitar  sound  that  explodes  from  the  ominous  opening  of  this  piano-driven  track  upheld  by  the  best  drumming  on  the  entire  album.  It is  insanely addictive  to  listen  to and one  of  the  major  tracks  in  the  spotlight  of  this  album  alongside  “Wolf.”

“Blacktop,”   is  the  low  point  of  this  album.  While  the  trio  tries  to  recline  their  seats  a  bit, it is not  supported  enough  for  it  to  be  the  casual and relaxing song  that  it  attempts  to  be.  This  is  an  area  where  the  earlier  track  “Lovebomb”  triumphs  where  “Blacktop”  doesn’t.

“Different Today”  slightly  makes  up  for  “Blacktop.”  Nothing  really  commands attention  with  this  track  other  than  its  lyrics  &  vocals.  Nothing  can  be  said  much  about  the  instrumentals  as  they  were not  appealing  in  the  least  bit.  Without  a  doubt  they  could’ve  stood  out  more. The  album  ends  with  “Mars”  as  it’s  a  somewhat  fitting  send  off  for  the  album and  serves  as  the  outro  with  a  short  soliloquy. 

With  all  aspects  taken  into  account, this  is  a  magnificent  and  suitable  comeback  for  the  Yeah  Yeah  Yeah’s.  While  some composition  on  the  second  half  of  this  album  left  something  to  be  desired,   the  trio  still  came  through  after  the  two  exhilarating  singles and  redeeming  themselves  from  2013’s “Mosquito”  album.  I’m  left  wanting  more  from  them,  however  I’m  still  pleased  with  what  they  have  done  on  this  record.  However  long  they  take  on  their  next  project  it  is  definitely  one  to  keep  on your  radar.

Genre : (Indie Rock) (Dream Pop)                                             

Record Label : (Secretly Canadian)

Rating :  (8.0/10)  

Producers : (Dave Sitek) (Justin Raisen) (Andrew Wyatt)          

Album Release Date: (September 30th, 2022)

Submit a Comment

Leave a Reply